Overview of Board of Education

Members of the Board of Education for School District No. 40 (New Westminster) were elected in November 2014 for a 4-year term.  On June 11, 2016 a By-election was held to fill the vacant position created by the resignation of Trustee MaryAnn Mortensen.  Mary Lalji was the successful candidate and was sworn in as School Trustee on June 21, 2016.The Board's contact person is Chair Jonina Campbell at 604-649-5816

Jonina Campbell (Chair),   Casey Cook,   Michael EwenMark Gifford,   James Janzen,  Mary Lalji, Kelly Slade-Kerr (Vice Chair)

The BOARD OF EDUCATION FOR SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 40 (NEW WESTMINSTER) acts through corporate authority, that is as if it were a single person.  The will of the Board is defined by Resolutions adopted by vote at a Board meeting.

The duties and responsibilities of the Board of Education are determined by the School Act and consists of several basic functions including:

  • Policy, Planning and Evaluation
  • Action on Legal Requirements
  • Selection of Senior Personnel
  • Public Relations
  • Final Appeal